Google Translate Now Supports Punjabi

By | December 11, 2013

Google has announced it is now supporting Nine new languages bringing the total to 80.These nine languages span Asia, Africa and Oceania and have over 200 million native speakers, collectively, says Google in its blog.

These nine languages are:

Google Translate Punjabi

  1. Hausa (Harshen Hausa), spoken in Nigeria and neighboring countries with 35 million native speaker.

  2. Igbo (Asụsụ Igbo) spoken in Nigeria with 25 million native speakers

  3. Yoruba (èdè Yorùbá) spoken in Nigeria and neighboring countries with 28 million native speakers

  4. Somali (Af-Soomaali) spoken in Somalia and other countries around the Horn of Africa with 17 million native speakers

  5. Zulu (isiZulu) spoken in South Africa and other south-western African countries with 10 million native speakers

  6. Mongolian (Монгол хэл), official language in Mongolia and also spoken in parts of China with 6 million native speakers

  7. Nepali (नेपाली), spoken in Nepal and India with 17 million native speakers

  8. Punjabi language (ਪੰਜਾਬੀ) (Gurmukhi script), spoken in India and Pakistan with 100 million native speakers

  9. Maori(Te Reo Māori), spoken in New Zealand with 160 thousand speakers.


Out of these languages first five languages are from Africa where Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba are three major languages of Nigeria. Mongolian, Nepali and Punjabi are from Asia where Punjabi is a major language in India leaving Maori which belongs to Oceania,native language of people of same name.

Google has also asked for help from volunteers blog post says, “You can help launch your language by volunteering to help us gather and translate texts in your language. Sign up with this form. We’re also constantly fine-tuning our translations. You can help with these efforts by clicking the translated text and editing it to be correct.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *