Twitter Reverses Its New Blocking Policy

By | December 13, 2013

twitter-blocked-red-line-zaw2In just four hours Twitter has reversed to its old blocking policy amidst strong backlash by the users.Here is the complete rundown:

Earlier today Twitter changed the way blocking works, this new policy allowed blocked users to still follow and read blocking user’s tweets in their timelines.This change  made blocking effectively ineffective and turned it into no more than a glorified mute button.

Here is what the change said:

What happens when a user is blocked?

If you block another user, you will no longer see:

  • The user in your follower list
  • Any updates from that user in your Home timeline, including any of their Tweets that were retweeted by accounts you follow
  • Their @replies or mentions in your Connect tab
  • Any interactions with that user’s Tweets or account (i.e., favorites, follows or Retweets) in your Interactions or Activity tabs
  • You will, however, still see this user’s Tweets appear in Search and if you navigate to their profile page.

Note: If your account is public, blocking a user does not prevent that user from following you, interacting with your Tweets, or receiving your updates in their timeline. If your Tweets are protected, blocking the user will cause them to unfollow you.

Not surprisingly, there was an uproar: Twitter users revolt over changes to abusive behavior policy.You can read about what users are saying here.

So, Twitter listened and changed the system,reverting back to the old one

Block

 

This is what company said in its blog post:

“Earlier today, we made a change to the way the “block” function of Twitter works. We have decided to revert the change after receiving feedback from many users – we never want to introduce features at the cost of users feeling less safe. Any blocks you had previously instituted are still in effect.

In reverting this change to the block function, users will once again be able to tell that they’ve been blocked. We believe this is not ideal, largely due to the retaliation against blocking users by blocked users (and sometimes their friends) that often occurs. Some users worry just as much about post-blocking retaliation as they do about pre-blocking abuse. Moving forward, we will continue to explore features designed to protect users from abuse and prevent retaliation.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *